Episode 62 – Worst. Rescue. Ever!

Episodes discussed: Doctor Who 4×18 The End of Time: Part 2 and Angel 1×2 Lonely Hearts

The End of Time: Part 2

Written by Russell T. Davies; Directed by Euros Lyn

The Doctor must confront the Master and the returning Time Lords while facing the end of his tenth incarnation.  Discussion points include:

  • What is the Doctor’s reward?
  • The farewell tour
  • Ten becomes Eleven
  • Time War horrors and myths
  • The Woman & the Master
  • Four knocks and self-sacrifice
Lonely Hearts

Written by David Fury; Directed by James A. Contner

Angel, Doyle, and Cordy search for someone to help in a dark, skeevy dive-bar. Discussion points include:

  • Loneliness, depression, and adult themes
  • The “too dark” script that could have been
  • A demon that targets young singles
  • Kate and Angel “make a connection”
  • Angel as an awkward superhero
  • Cordy and Doyle spar

Next time: A bonus discussion of the Russell T. Davies Era

About Katherine Sas

I graduated from Messiah College in 2009 with a B.A. in English Literature. I'm a student of all things arts and humanities, in particular Tolkien, the Inklings, and the fantastic and imaginative tradition in storytelling.

6 thoughts on “Episode 62 – Worst. Rescue. Ever!

  1. I have to say, although we all know I have my issues with Moffat, I adore Matt Smith. David Tennant is definitely my all time favourite Doctor, but I don’t have a bad word to say about Matt Smith, I thought he was excellent from start to finish, despite everything.

    Having said that, I too did the traditional expecting to hate the new Doctor thing – I had *huge* reservations about him going into his first episode and he won me over in about five minutes – looking forward to hearing your comments next week.

    1. Interesting, isobelayres – I have very similar views myself. And you’ll definitely be interested to hear Curtis’ reaction to The Eleventh Hour, I think. (spoilers…)

      Just curious, who was your first Doctor? Did you start with Eccleston, or the Classic series?

      1. I started with the classic series as a kid, from Tom Baker onwards, but I was fairly young and only watched intermittently (parents aren’t fans). If you said ‘Doctor Who’ to me, the first image into my head would be Peter Davison but I do prefer David Tennant.

        I’ve only really properly watched Nu Who. I’m not entirely certain whether I’m going to be watching the next series or not, I’m that grumpy about it at the moment!

    2. I like Davison and T. Baker, too, from what I’ve seen – still working my way through the Classics.

      Oh, New Zealand, huh! Are you still there? What a great place to live.

      As for the new series, I’m planning on blogging it as new episodes come out at http://ravingsanity.wordpress.com/. I’d love it if you’d comment if you watch it – it’s nice to have a dialogue, and I like to hear everyone’s thoughts.

      1. My Dad and step-Mum still out in NZ but I’ve been back in the UK (Scotland and then England) since ’93. It really is a fantastic country but it just wasn’t home. It’s all so new. I like being in England, and the fact that my flat is in a 100 year old building, and the church down the road is 600 years old, and the cathedral the next town over is nearly 1,000 years old, and then there’re Roman ruins nearly 2,000 years old, and stone circles only 60 miles away that are 5,000 years old.

        There were some really amazing Tom Baker episodes – I recently watched The Genesis of the Daleks (with Sarah-Jane!) and it was really very good (terrible special effects, of course, but story and acting were outstanding).

        I’ve bookmarked your blog and will keep an eye out!

Leave a Reply

