Episode 109 – A Bad Influence on Himself

Episodes discussed: Buffy 5×3 The Replacement and Doctor Who 7×13 The Name of the Doctor

The Replacement

Written by Jane Espenson; Directed by James A. Contner

A spell gone wrong creates a Xander doppelganger, splitting into (supposed) strengths and weaknesses. Discussion points include:

  • The twin dilemma
  • Scaredy!Xander & Smooth!Xander
  • Xander fights for Anya
  • Anya’s awareness of mortality
  • Riley’s unrequited(?) feelings
  • Spike’s Buffy doll
The Name of the Doctor

Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Saul Metzstein

When the Paternoster Gang are kidnapped, the Doctor must face Trenzalore to rescue them. Discussion points include:

  • The nursery rhyming Whisper Men
  • Seeing the effects on the Paternoster Gang
  • Clara meets River
  • The funereal tone
  • The John Hurt Doctor
  • Clara becomes the Impossible Girl

Next time: Doctor Who Series 7 Recap and Angel 2×3 First Impressions.

About Katherine Sas

I graduated from Messiah College in 2009 with a B.A. in English Literature. I'm a student of all things arts and humanities, in particular Tolkien, the Inklings, and the fantastic and imaginative tradition in storytelling.

3 thoughts on “Episode 109 – A Bad Influence on Himself

  1. Ooh, I guess this means you’re nearly up to BSG! I just wanted to say that recent episodes aren’t filtering through into my podcast feed on the standard Apple app. Not sure whether this is a you thing or a me thing? Anyway, it says there’s no new episodes since 11 August, when quite clearly there are…I haven’t been listening of late (I’ve never watched Angel and Doctor Who just makes me angry these days) but I’m really looking forward to getting back into it when the BSG discussion starts.

    1. Hi there!

      Re: iTunes podcast – Thanks for the note, and I did just notice that they weren’t updating in iTunes. We’re going to fix when we post the new episode this week, so you should see the last couple come through soon.

      Re: Listening – Hey, we appreciate you following the blog even if the episodes aren’t to your taste these days. If you are ever willing to give Angel and recent Doctor Who another shot, I’d love to hear what you think, though, either of our discussions or of why you find yourself angered by the show.

      Re: BSG – Yes, soon! We are going to go through Doctor Who series 8 & 9, but then we’ll be jumping into BSG. Sad as I am to run out of DW episodes, I am really excited for BSG. In a way, it should be even more exciting. Curtis and I have talked about Doctor Who so much, whereas I feel like BSG is kind of a blank slate. We really haven’t discussed it in detail at all, and I haven’t blogged on it anywhere, so I kind of have no idea where the discussions will go, which is really exciting.

      Thanks again for the comments! Always good to hear from you.

      1. I do pop in to listen to what you have to say about favourite episodes (like Hush, and there’s another one coming up this season that I’ll be really interested in hearing about).

        Re: Angel, I watched and really enjoyed the first season, and then I just didn’t feel hugely interested in where it went after that – no dislike, just a bit blah. I watched the last season, too, but spoilers! so I won’t say anything about that just yet for anyone following along who hasn’t seen it, although I’ll be interested to hear what you have to say about that, also!

        I haven’t even watched the most recent series of Doctor Who, and I find my current irritation is spilling backwards so I’m waiting ’til I’ve calmed down so I don’t ruin episodes I’ve previously enjoyed with my nit-picking…I think I’ve talked before about how I find Moffat’s treatment of female characters problematic and in general I find his seasons too overblown – it’s all sound and fury, signifying nothing (to steal a phrase). To me, personally, I really enjoyed the emotion Davies brought with him (not necessarily the romance, just the relationships between characters – Donna and the Doctor weren’t romantic, but there was great strength of feeling). I feel that with Moffat it’s just surface sheen and there’s nothing going on underneath, and I’m just not interested.

        And it’s funny, because some of his episodes from before he was showrunning are my favourites, but I think he needs a restraining hand.

        And plus also, I just can’t warm to Clara and/or Jenna Louise-Coleman, or Peter Capaldi. Death by a thousand cuts, really! If I loved the portrayals of the Doctor or the companions, I might forgive the rest (basically, the way I felt about Matt Smith’s tenancy – there was a lot that bothered me, but I enjoyed him in the role so much that I watched anyway).

        I don’t forgive Doctor Who it’s bad episodes as easily as I do Buffy, because I feel a lot more strongly about Buffy as a whole.

        Incidentally, was it you who was saying about how the first time you watched Buffy (basically as it was airing) you identified so strongly with Buffy, being around the same age, and how interesting it is re-viewing from an older perspective? I feel like that. Although I’ll still never forgive Xander for that ‘Willow says give him hell’ comment… ;)

Leave a Reply

